Has your home gotten ahead of your homeowners insurance?

I’m writing this post because I’m just ending a journey with my house.  I have been living in the house I grew up in, and when I spent twenty years on the road, racing, my house suffered.  A few years ago I realized I had to do some major work, so taking advantage of the rates I refinanced, and decided to to the outside of the house (siding and windows), all three baths, and my kitchen.  I went into this with my eyes open but didn’t really realize what I was getting into!

My first contractor, who did the outside of the house and started the inside, became very ill earlier this year and had to abandon the work.  Finding a replacement contractor took all summer, and the work is just getting finished as we speak.  I’m very happy with the results, and also am pleased to contribute to the economic recovery of our Country.

Many people are doing the same thing as I.  But if you are, don’t forget about your insurance!  If you increase the value of your home, do you have enough insurance to coverr the changes?  This is especially important if you actually add on to your home in any way, be it a simple deck or a full scale addition. 

The answer is easy, of course….call us!  We’ll go through your coverage with you and make sure that if there’s a loss to your new labor of loss, you’ll be compensated for it.  As I’ve found out, doing renovations is WAY too much work to risk losing.

About wildbill426

Owner of Dragracersinsurance.com and Horton Insurance Services. Insurance agent and drag racer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.